Access to County Councillors,  Borough Councillors and MP 

From time to time residents may have a need to consult with politicians who represent us at Borough and County levels and in the House of Parliament.

In the past the Thurlaston Parish Council has valued the support and interest given by these Councillors and our MP.

We always invite Councillors to our Parish Council meetings. Attendance by our representatives has become intermittent over the past several months, particularly later months of 2018 and early 2019.  Our Member of Parliament for Kenilworth & Southam (which includes Thurlaston) is Jeremy Wright MP.  Our MP has always responded to resident questions and those presented to him by the Parish Council.

Below is some information on our representatives but fuller information can be obtained from the relevant websites:
Warwickshire County Council:
Rugby Borough Council:


Councillor Jill Simpson-Vince

Jill has been a Warwickshire County Councillor since 2017 and is currently Chair of the Regulatory Committee as well as a member for Children's and Young Persons Overview and Scrutiny Committee.

Jill was a Rugby Borough Councillor for Coton and Boughton ward from 2014 - 2022 and a portfolio holder from 2019 - 2022.

Jill has an MA in International Relations and a BSc(Hons) in Psychology and American Studies. Her previous roles included being a Corporate Projects Manager for a regeneration agency in London and a Resourcing and Projects Manager for a leading business psychology consultancy.

After moving to Coton Park in 2008 and having her daughter in 2010, she became involved in the Coton Park Residents Association and led the team producing their Neighbourhood Plan - the first official neighbourhood plan in Warwickshire. She is still actively involved in the CPRA today, as well as the Eden Park Community Association.

Jill's involvement in the neighbourhood plan also started the process for what is now Rugby Free Primary School. Jill is a trustee for that school and as a trustee she was also heavily involved in setting up Rugby Free Secondary School in Rokeby.

Jill's key priorities for the area are education and dealing with parking/speeding. Jill is working hard to get a secondary school in place for the area and is liaising between all the relevant organisations to push this to happen. She also wants to see the infant and junior provision sustained for the communities going forward. She is also working closely with Warwickshire Police and County Highways to look at the issues of parking and speeding across the area. 


Email Contact 


Councillor Jon Bennett

Dunsmore Ward

Liberal Democrat

07753 924592






County Councillor John Keeling

Cllr John Keeling represents Dunsmore Ward as a Conservative councillor.

Cllr Keeling's term of office expires May 2027.

Email:  Cllr John Keeling
Telephone: 07956 759098


  Cllr John Keeling

Jeremy Wright MP

Jeremy Wright is our MP for the Kenilworth and Southam constituency.
Mr Wright is currently the Secretary of State for Digital, Media and Sport and was until July 2018, Attorney General.

House of Commons, London, SW1A 0AA
Tel: 020 7219 2008
Email: Jeremy Wright MP

Jubilee House, Smalley Place, Kenilworth, CV8 1QG
Tel: 01926 853650
Email: Jeremy Wright MP

Jeremy Wright MP 

Warwickshire County Council & Rugby Borough Council

This section outlines government responsibilities handed to the Thurlaston Parish, and those which are the responsibility of other local government organisations.
Local government is organised in a number of tiers. The Thurlaston Parish is located in Warwickshire and comes under management arrangements which are split between Warwickshire County Council and Rugby Borough Council.

It is important to appreciate that a number of Parish Council's roles are advisory rather than of an executive nature.

Warwickshire County Council
The County Council is responsible for services across the whole of the county, such as:

  • Education
  • Transport
  • Planning
  • Fire and public safety
  • Social Care
  • Libraries
  • Waste management
  • Trading standards



The Parish Council operates below borough councils. They are elected for a number of local issues, such as: 

  • Allotments
  • Street lighting
  • Bus shelters
  • Community centres
  • Play areas and play equipment
  • Grass cutting
  • Maintaining public paths
  • Grants to help local organisations
  • Consultation on neighbourhood planning
  • Consultation with regard to county-wide strategic planning
  • Local Emergency Plans


Rugby Borough Council
The Borough Council is responsible for the following services:

  • Rubbish collection
  • Recycling
  • Council Tax collections
  • Housing
  • Planning & Building control
  • Recreational services
  • Parking & Public Services
  • Planning for flooding & emergencies

The map shows the geographical area covered by Thurlaston Parish Council